PDA

View Full Version : On the bottom for big pike

lromanchuk
02-07-2014, 05:19 PM
I know a lot of guys that fish for big pike by laying the bait on the bottom with a single hook running through the bait and out the mouth.

I've been using this technique for a few years and have had some pretty good success. BUT, i've also lost a TON of fish. So i tried running the single hook through the mouth with a sliding treble hook on the leader that i can hook through the spine of the bait. Unfortunately i think this has cost me to lose even more fish. Pulling on the line with a sliding hook creates just enough slack for the fish to get off. I went out yesterday and did fairly well...landed probably 10 pike, all between 30-40 inches, but i can't even count how many fish i lost right after "setting the hook". It's like a pull the stupid thing right out.

Anyway, enough ranting. Has anyone else has an issue like this using this technique? If so, how did you fix the problem???

kevinhits
02-07-2014, 05:34 PM
I know a lot of guys that fish for big pike by laying the bait on the bottom with a single hook running through the bait and out the mouth.

I've been using this technique for a few years and have had some pretty good success. BUT, i've also lost a TON of fish. So i tried running the single hook through the mouth with a sliding treble hook on the leader that i can hook through the spine of the bait. Unfortunately i think this has cost me to lose even more fish. Pulling on the line with a sliding hook creates just enough slack for the fish to get off. I went out yesterday and did fairly well...landed probably 10 pike, all between 30-40 inches, but i can't even count how many fish i lost right after "setting the hook". It's like a pull the stupid thing right out.

Anyway, enough ranting. Has anyone else has an issue like this using this technique? If so, how did you fix the problem???