PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a newbie about tent trailers

wayne_kenoff
02-16-2014, 06:57 PM
Hey everyone, im a newbie to the site and I am about to begin researching what to look for in buying a tent trailer. I have been tenting my whole life and would like to make an upgrade. I am not very knowledgeable about brands, sizes or what to look for so im hoping I could get some help here. I need it to sleep three or four and would like it to have a working heat source. Could I maybe get some tips or pointers around what to look for? thank you very much!!!

SteyrSSG
02-16-2014, 07:59 PM
Hi;
Our family has been using a tent trailer for quite some time. We have a 12ft Rockwood with a front storage compartment. I would recommend if you are looking to purchase used, to always look for a "3 way" fridge (ie. propane, or 12volt, or 110volt power) And, heated mattresses:) Also, an awning that allows a screened room is advantageous when you have little ones.

wayne_kenoff
02-16-2014, 08:13 PM
Thank you for the info!! With my budget...im not sure heated mattresses or extra awnings are something that's a deal breaker.....but I really like the idea of the 3way, sounds like it would be the most efficient way to go. What year is your Rockwood?

riden
02-16-2014, 08:22 PM
Whats your tow vehicle?

Mr Conservation
02-16-2014, 10:48 PM
I purchased a Jayco tent trailer in 2010. Had it on several trips and have never had a problem with it. It is the small version, which comfortably sleeps 4, although there are only usually two of us. It has the 3 way fridge, furnace, and several other options.

I chose Jayco for a couple of reasons:

1. From all the research I did, including reading many reviews, :test: I felt Jayco to be the best bang for my buck.

2. The dealer is only 10 minutes down the road from me. If I ever have a major issue, it is not far to the service department.