PDA

View Full Version : Weightlifting/Fitness Thread!

DiabeticKripple
02-22-2014, 02:22 PM
being outdoorsmen (and women) I assume that a lot of us like to stay fit during the off seasons!

so I thought i'd make this thread where we could share knowledge about anything weightlifting/fitness related and hopefully help some newbies out.

i started lifting in high school a bit and ive been off and on ever since. but i bought a membership for 4 months so now i have no reason to not workout.

i try to lift everyday (depending how sore i am) and i also play hockey 3x per week.

CaberTosser
02-22-2014, 02:38 PM
Good topic. I used to be a regular gym rat in my 20's and early to mid 30's but have dropped off the map for the last 6 years. I finally got back in just last week and hope to get in semi-regularly on an ongoing basis. I noticed my cardio absolutely sucked as well as most everything else, its humbling to realize that even your default fitness level has gone into decline. At least I found my drop-in passes though. I would typically get 10 pack passes instead of memberships for the time's I'd be getting my exercise at work, on hikes or wherever. One can also vary the gyms they attend this way too, I like to split between Westside Rec and Talisman for instance, variety being a good thing. I usually prefer 3 times a week. I have a buddy who has his own personal training facility that he runs with his wife, so that's also an option for weights or Ninjutsu.

DiabeticKripple
02-22-2014, 03:21 PM
when i move to GP in july, both my future roommates do MMA and jiu-jitsu so i guess ill have to start training in that.

huntinstuff
02-22-2014, 03:30 PM
Is it weightlifting or weight training that you are doing?

CaberTosser
02-22-2014, 03:52 PM

How are you differentiating the two 'Stuff? Olympic style weightlifting versus weight training? I think the distinction has been lost in common English usage. I ain't got 'sperience with the clean & jerk, just weight training.