PDA

View Full Version : Forgot to drain my Outboard.....

Swangin
03-25-2014, 11:13 PM
Last fall I forgot to put my motor down and drain my outboard. I realized it after the 1st round of 30 below. I lowered the motor, tarped it in, put a space heater on it and ran the Herman Nelson in the storage tent for about 3 days.

I'm pretty new at boats and motors, what are the odds I screwed my leg? It's a Johnson 100

harrydude
03-26-2014, 01:20 AM
Did u get any water to come out of it after u heated it up?

U need to look at the motor and leg for cracks. Ice is very powerful and will crack the case when it expands

Chief16
03-26-2014, 01:45 AM
My uncle had this happen to him last winter but on an inboard. The stress plugs (I'm drawing a blank on the real name for the right now for some reason) popped on his and luckily no motor damage

coors04
03-26-2014, 04:58 AM
As long as the leg wasn't full of water you should be fine. I'm new to boats also but as I understand it your leg can slowly fill up with water ( where there should only be oil ) over the summer and if it does and if its not drained before winter it could freeze and crack or split the leg. If its not full of water and just has the leg oil in it there won't be any problems. Hope this helps

Kim473
03-26-2014, 05:33 AM
I have seen freezing water split a 2" pc of mild steel (44W) Very powerfull. Your probably ok if the motor was sitting a while before winter came. Good luck tho.

cube
03-26-2014, 08:07 AM
You should be fine.

Tannerdog
03-26-2014, 10:58 AM
As long as there was no water in the leg oil, you should be fine. The only water sitting in there would be in the low spot created by having the motor tilted. If it was damaged you would see cracks in the leg housing. Should be OK.

Dirt2oil
03-26-2014, 11:06 AM
Water once frozen expands 7.5 times equally in all directions! Brutal on legs, I always run r v antifreeze through mine no hassles. Might be ok

RavYak
03-26-2014, 11:21 AM