PDA

View Full Version : GPS units

nube
04-03-2014, 12:56 PM
Hey guys I will admit I am not a reck kind of guy and I hate units like a GPS because I am not good at learning new types of computer stuff. That being said I am interested in buying one. Here is basically what I am looking for and I am not sure if it is out there.
I plan on using it for trapping. Is there a unit out there that will have a satellite viewing kind of like the one you would see on Google maps and have it be able to pinpoint me on the map? I think then I would be able to scout the trails I see and also be able to mark an X where all my trap location spots will be. I would like to have a map where I can see all the type of forest and where the clear cuts are type of thing. Is there such a thing? If so what unit do you recommend?

AB RANGER 007
04-03-2014, 07:34 PM
Hey guys I will admit I am not a reck kind of guy and I hate units like a GPS because I am not good at learning new types of computer stuff. That being said I am interested in buying one. Here is basically what I am looking for and I am not sure if it is out there.
I plan on using it for trapping. Is there a unit out there that will have a satellite viewing kind of like the one you would see on Google maps and have it be able to pinpoint me on the map? I think then I would be able to scout the trails I see and also be able to mark an X where all my trap location spots will be. I would like to have a map where I can see all the type of forest and where the clear cuts are type of thing. Is there such a thing? If so what unit do you recommend?

:thinking-006: No LIVE SAT hand held GPS units at time. The newer Garmin GPS units can load custom maps inculding Google Earth, But if the area of your choice is in LOW RES it will not help you, (paid subsciption as well).The older Garmin GPS units uses MapSource Mapping Software (gdb formate), the newer Units use a Garmin Software program called Base Camp (gpx formate).