PDA

View Full Version : Tips for Spot and Stalk Black Bears?

Alberta Bigbore
04-08-2014, 06:01 AM
I am a fairly new bear hunter. Tried to " actually hunt them" last season in fall. I have no experience baiting them nor do i have intentions of doing that...this...year.

Any important tips or advise a fairly new bear hunter can use to his advantage on finding black bears and then stalking them, instead of having them come to you?

Anything a bear hunter wants to pack if intending on getting a rug done?

Havent taken a bear since my early 20's and Im 36 now. So im pretty excited and hope to do it with a bow over rifle if I can.

huntin
04-08-2014, 06:11 AM
the wind is the most important. their eye sight is poor but they can still see you. slow and steady. and some times a fawn in distress will bring them right to you

elkdump
04-08-2014, 06:20 AM
check side roads and old logging/oil and gas roads, bears will travel great distance using easiest route, good places to find tracks, to tell if single/boar or sow with cubs using tracks for ID
frequent ares with willows,***** willows and marshes with frogs and tender young growth, bears love all these treats,

frequent areas with lots of rotting logs and sandy soil with LOTS of anthills,

frequent areas with lots of Dandelions and Clover ,

take along a caping knife /scalpel and 2 x 5 pound bags of coarse pickling salt to rub the bear hide once off carcass, cape head and be very careful to do around eyes and lips and ears, (flesh trim fat from hide (asp) and rub skinned/fleshed hide with liberal amounts of salt, fold and roll hide, never place inside plastic bag or tarp,
get to taxidermy or freezer (ASP)

hahaha this forum wont allow spelling of Pu ss y willow, lmao

ACKLEY ABE
04-08-2014, 06:26 AM
Cover lots of miles, watch newly seeeded green lines, dandilions, clover, beaver ponds.... Wind of course is a factor but...even if a bear does wind you and looks up, just freeze...he probably will go back to feeding.