PDA

View Full Version : Wanted : Fishing Gear for Outdoor Ed Trip

Pike fisher
04-10-2014, 10:17 PM
I am a high school teacher in Lethbridge and am planning a week long outdoor ed trip into the Lakeland Provincial Park for this summer. Most of the 15 students I am taking are not fishermen and do not have fishing gear. I am trying to come up with ways to keep the cost down for the students, so my brother suggested I appeal to the AO members to see if anyone has some extra gear in their box(es) that they would be willing to donate to our trip.

We would mostly be targeting pike and walleye so I am hoping for bottom bouncers and harnesses, spoons, crankbaits, rubbertail jigs, swimbaits, leaders, or whatever else anyone would be willing to donate. Anything we get will be less stuff that the kids have to buy (since I already told them they needed to buy a decent rod with good line). The students are super stoked about the trip and this would great to help us along in our planning. You can pm me to work out details.

Thanks (in advance).

rafhone
04-10-2014, 10:36 PM
I have some unwanted tackle if you have someone that can pick it up in calgary.

Flieguy
04-11-2014, 07:15 AM
If you're buying 10 or so setups, the local fishing store might give you a bulk deal. Call or email them and tell them what you're looking for.

calgarychef
04-11-2014, 07:54 AM
A willow pole with a hook and worm will catch lots of fish and it's pretty inexpensive.

-JR-
04-12-2014, 07:49 AM
A willow pole with a hook and worm will catch lots of fish and it's pretty inexpensive.

I almost agree with you ,I have taken a few people with me fishing and they could not cast a rod, I even gave them my wives rod ,the old push the button reel.
It was kinda of funny to see the hook get dropped behind them.
Thought I was going to loss my rod in the lake ,ended up jigging for walleye instead of casting for pike.