PDA

View Full Version : Teach the tactics!

Davidantkiw
04-27-2014, 11:21 AM
So I'm not looking for people's sacred fishing hole or that favorite lure that no one else knows about, but I am need in some quick guidance on tactics for certain species. After having some lengthy talks with member KegRiver about fishing the great white north he gave me loads and loads of excellent advice to get me catching fish from shore but now I have bought a boat and thought I would do a wider canvas instead of harassing him on pm's.

I am a novice fisherman from Vancouver Island where I mostly fished trout from shore. I moved to Alberta(High level) last year and did some pike and walleye fishing all from shore and everytime just with yellow and black 5 of diamonds, though It did prove to be decently successful and we did catch often, I feel as if there is more to fishing than that. So me and a friend decided to buy a 12 ft aluminum and a 4.5hp merc. Never done any boat fishing so this is where my requests of tactics come in. I'm looking to sink into some pike and walleye but also there are some lakes and rivers with whitefish, burbot, lake trout and I would like to give them a go as well. Any advice is appreciated, even if it's a book to read I'll take anything haha.

The places I will be attempting are.
Rivers - peace, and it's tribs, Boyer, chinchaga, hay, wentzel, ponton, wabasca
Lakes - hutch, rainbow, wadlin, twin, peerless

Thanks again in advance for any tips

bobalong
04-27-2014, 12:28 PM
I have fished for most species in Alberta but walleye fishing is what I spend probably 90% of my time fishing for. You will catch pike, in many of the same locations and with the same presentations you use for walleye.

My observations over the past 25 years of chasing walleye, is that "rig" fishing has been more consistently productive for me. IMO "rig" fishing will give you the most control of the speed and depth of your presentation.