PDA

View Full Version : new to calgary want to fish the bow

kotic
05-01-2014, 11:10 PM
hey. im kinda new to calgary from toronto, i fished the credit river for the past 5 years for salmon and rainbow trout. i would like to get back on a river now that the weather is getting better. im about to buy a float reel and rod tomorrow and start fishing the "best river in canada" the bow but i have no idea where to even look for fishing holes as it is so big. i live near the ikea and was thinking to check fish creek park where the creek meets the river.... any body know any spots/holes i can try out with easy access (near a park,parking lot,well known area) that is around SE? but i don't mind driving to any part of the city if i need to.

thanks for your help

Tigger72
05-01-2014, 11:45 PM
You won't get a tonne of "where to go" info ... but lots of tips and tricks.... the big problem is since the floods everyone seems to be out looking for "good spots"..I too am new to fishing the bow I fish anywhere from straight across from ikea under glenmore trail (there is a boat launch) to I think its called natures hideaway east of DeWinton where the high wood joins the bow.... I've been told its not a river to learn new skills on however its so close and convenient ( I can be fishing in 10mins from my front door ) I'm willing to learn the hard way!! Good luck and enjoy!!! ( READ THE REGS )

Flieguy
05-02-2014, 07:22 AM
the bow has decent fishing throughout the whole section from the WHD weir to the carseland weir. That's the most fished section.

Watch out with that float reel, no bait in the bow for the most part! But you can float marabou jigs or whatever else you want to float.

I've seen and heard people do well with a rapalas in the spring. You can find some big browns in the bow.

Just get out and explore and try different things! Then learn to fly fish :p

SCHOOCH
05-02-2014, 07:39 AM