PDA

View Full Version : Hunting around outfitters

diesel fixer
05-10-2014, 05:45 PM
Heading up to the bait site this morning and met a outfitter who was getting ready for his season. Really nice guy and I knew roughly where he hunts and didn't want to set up our bait close to his because its my first time bear hunting and didn't want to interfere with his operation. After talking to him I found out that he baits every km of the river for about 45-50 km. I ended up having bait in "his" area that "he's been baiting at for 10 years" as I didn't know he came down river that far. I know he does this for a living and all and we discussed possible safety concerns of hunting close to each other but am I wrong to think that it seems a bit excessive to have bait every km?. i am pretty easy going and he was nice enough to offer to help us set up on a spot down river but there is a reason that we wanted to be a bit further up, less traffic and its a bit closer to where we usually fish and camp.

On another note my bait got hit yesterday for the first time by a beautiful little cinnamon bear… Didn't realize how exciting it would be!!!

pikergolf
05-10-2014, 05:53 PM
If he's got 45 to 50 baits set out, he can work around you. If he interferes with your hunt turn him in.

elkhunter11
05-10-2014, 06:01 PM
I certainly wouldn't set my own baits only one kilometer apart. It sounds to me like he fed you a story to keep you out of the area that he likes to hunt.

missingtwo
05-10-2014, 06:05 PM
Nice guy. But, I bet he fed you something that comes out the south end of a north facing male bovine.

stevens
05-10-2014, 06:07 PM
That does not sound right 45 to 50 baits whats he doing feeding every bear in the country. I can't imagine even an outfitter having that many baits set up but maybe either way should be room for you to do your thing I would think.

Lefty-Canuck
05-10-2014, 06:10 PM