PDA

View Full Version : Anybody remember the days when you took your gun to school?

tchammer
07-08-2014, 09:04 AM
Stupid post but thought it might be fun. With all the hysteria about everything these days, I just started to reminisce about the good old days. I remember in high school I would spend a lot of weekends at a friend's farm which was north of town while I lived east of town. So I would often breakdown my 22, or 308, depending on if we were going after gophers or deer, and take it on the bus to school. Then I would put it in my locker for the day and then take it on his bus to the farm. Also during hunting season the guns were always in the trucks in the parking lot so we could go hunting at noon, more often than not in the back window. My bus driver knew about it and on at least one occasion a teacher asked about it when he saw it in my locker. "No worries" he said "just don't take it out of the locker until hometime." And as for the good old days I graduated in '92 which does not seem that long ago in the whole scale of things. Can't imagine the snit storm that would hit if a kid was even caught with a rifle in his truck parked off school property now.

Slash8
07-08-2014, 09:10 AM
I took a pellet gun to school on the bus so i could go to a friends house and shoot gophers after school. It was in a felt gun sock. No one said a word. I kept it in my locker and that was that. I think it helped that I went to a rural school. Not sure how that would have panned out in the city.

Bigdad013
07-08-2014, 09:24 AM
Took the hunter training course in Junior high, brought my shotty to class, was about a 4 block walk, not a word from anyone.

stirfry1
07-08-2014, 09:54 AM
Yup I remember hunting pheasants during lunch time while at school, believe it or not buddy brought his gun on the bus (left it with driver while in transit)

Bjay
07-08-2014, 10:07 AM