PDA

View Full Version : Boats vs Canoes for fishing

spinN'flyfish
11-15-2014, 09:49 PM
Hey, any recommended boats for the rivers or lakes? Paddles will do same as motors. Thinking of gettin' a used one for the next season to start off with. Also do you need a trailer for a 12-14 footer? I grew up as a shore angler restricting to rivers and not fishing humongous lakes. Im no expert, i'd like some advice folks.

rottik9
11-15-2014, 10:07 PM
Well, to start out i would use a canoe, and paddles....most of us with big motors steam past some great fish. Truth, both have their place, just I went to kayak fishing, and enjoy the reeds. Fishing is great, boat, from the shore any place, even sitting over an 8" hole.

RavYak
11-15-2014, 10:12 PM
I have owned a 14' canoe, 13' fishing kayak, inflatable pontoon, 12' and 14' tinners and also been in larger boats. All have their places and have advantages and disadvantages. Pontoons are good for smaller bodies of water and when you don't plan on trolling fast or covering a lot of ground. Canoes are a little more mobile and better for trolling but not as good for sitting still, most of them still aren't great for bigger lakes as you have to be a careful around big boats and rough water. My kayak is very stable, safe and even more mobile yet but the downside is that they are significantly more expensive, I don't have any second thoughts about taking my kayak out on Wab/Gull even in 30+ km winds. Main advantage of a canoe over say a pontoon or canoe is that you can take someone with you(on most 14+ foot models anyways). A small older tinner is always an option too if you have a place to store it.