PDA

View Full Version : Burbot Quest

Justanotherbuck2
12-08-2008, 12:22 AM
I have been fishing Alberta for about 35 years and have yet to catch a burbot! This MUST change, I am not much of a hard water fisherman but that seems to be the ticket to landing a burbot...HELP. I live reasonably close to Crawling valley and Mcgregor are they worth hunting burbot, and what and how would you suggest? This should be the year I land one of those ugly boogers!

calgarygringo
12-08-2008, 08:00 AM
We target them at Crawling Valley every winter. Lots in there and we have caught them up to 10 lbs. A couple rules of thumb. Fish for them from just before dark on after everyone else goes home. Most leave before the burbot bite starts. Either use a big smelt or large minnow on a glow jig right off the bottom. Fish near shore 10-15 feet depth out from the east or west side islands and you will catch a couple or more every time out. Biggest thing is most people don't catch them because they leave before they start feeding at night. We don't pack up until 8 or 9 depending on the bite. There are lots and some bigger ones. Wait until you get a 8-10 lb burbot on your light line inside the shack. They are as much fun to catch as the bigger pike.

Couleestalker
12-08-2008, 08:40 AM
Burbot from Crawling Valley a couple of years ago.

Justanotherbuck2
12-08-2008, 12:50 PM
Nice pictures guys and great tips...I'll likely wait till after christmas to let that ice get a little stiffer but should be a blast..I'll post the results here and pics when I land my first one!

Alberta Bigbore
12-08-2008, 01:55 PM
Gull is good for Burbs

rocky97
12-08-2008, 06:07 PM