PDA

View Full Version : target practice info

shotgunjoe22
01-27-2015, 11:21 AM
hey guys. i tried to post earlier but i don't think it worked. sorry if i post twice. so I'm new to hunting and looking to hunt big game this year. i need to get in some target practice but pretty unclear where to go. i want to practice outdoors as that is where i will be shooting when i hunt so a shooting range is out. I've been told by most that any crown land is ok to use. sounds good to me but when i looked into the red water and bruderhiem areas, i was linked to a site that said in big bold red letters "target practice in the bruderhiem and redwater areas is strictly prohibited" even tho they are crown land. this has me a little shy now. the few people i know have their regular spots and don't want to relocate, which is understandable, but i need somewhere that is closer to home for me as i now have a pregnant wife and a 6-8 hour day for target practice is more desirable than a 15 hour day or over nighter. I'm hoping to hunt 337 and 338 as they are close enough to home for day trips. any info on these areas, for example can i drive down cutlines to find a spot, can i use lease roads ect. or perhaps where i could obtain a map of crown land boundaries or even who to call for this info, would be greatly appreciated. I've contacted some of the authorities but i usually just get the run around ( if anyone answers at all) so it would be much help if i knew atleast where to start.

thanks in advance

WCTHEMI
01-27-2015, 11:27 AM
Where are you at? There is probably an outdoor rifle range near you that you could join.

shotgunjoe22
01-27-2015, 02:14 PM