PDA

View Full Version : instrumentaion diploma after Bsc in chemical engineering?

Walker888
01-28-2015, 02:16 PM
Hi

I am a new immigrant and I have a Bsc in chemical engineering from Africa
and one yaer experience in oil and gas industry. I am studying for appega lisence (EIT) exam now (fe) and I was thinking in doing instrumentation engineering technology at nait because i heard the job market is declining these days because of oil price drops. I have tried to enroll in master degree but my Gpa is not comptitve. What do you think about IET diploma? Is it a suitable choice?

mrks_jnz
01-28-2015, 07:01 PM
if you can gain your 4 years EIT experience and earn your PENG. you'll be laughing all the way to the bank. generally I've seen Sr technologists earn almost as much as Sr engineers. and some of them make a **** ton of cash. but with techs, it's a steep climb to the top, whereas that iron ring is a meal ticket to easy money.

Also in times like these, tech are first to go, as they can't stamp drawings. speaking only in terms of epcm, YMMV in terms of construction companies, or up in Edmonton or site, where techs may be of higher value.

Source: Cost Controller for an EPCM, privy to labour rates.

Mister Muskeg
01-28-2015, 08:10 PM
Welcome....Have spoken with engineers from China and yes, they too have a whole whack (that means ALOT) of education that is not recognized here. I have no idea on how the guidelines are set up.

Am guessing you're looking at Outdoorsman Engineering:)

justsomeguy
01-29-2015, 07:34 PM
Need answers to the following questions before I can offer advice:

Are you willing to write your exams to get your P. Eng in 4 years or are you taking the route of 10 years experience.

What type of engineering are you looking at doing? Working in an EPC house in the city doing design work or working in a producing plant?