PDA

View Full Version : What trade is the most needed in the oil patch?

Icon
02-16-2015, 11:00 AM
Hey everyone,

One of my boys will be graduating this year and was first considering trying to get a job in Oil and Gas for a few years to save up for college. Now he is starting to think long term after seeing that the Canadian Government is offering interest free loans for apprenticeship trade programs. He has been taking mechanics and other shop classes at high school and has enjoyed it.

So my question is... would there be one or two trades that he should focus on that would be in demand consistently?

Oldranger
02-16-2015, 11:06 AM
i'm a mechanical contractor in central alberta and have a heck of a time getting people to try the sheet metal trade. I have been at it for close to 35 years and it has given me a good living. Everyone wants to be a plumber try the sheet metal trade

Selkirk
02-16-2015, 11:12 AM
. . . So my question is... would there be one or two trades that he should focus on that would be in demand consistently?

Warning; This is Alberta! The term 'consistently' doesn't apply here! :lol:

Seriously, I'd encourage your son to go into a trade (of his choice) that has good demand, both inside and outside the O&G patch. To do otherwise, is folly.

My two nickels,

Mac

tullfan
02-16-2015, 11:21 AM
Heavy duty mechanic. Repairs required all over the planet, crane opperators. Heavy equipment opperators. These skills are always in demand.
Tullfan

CaberTosser
02-16-2015, 11:21 AM