PDA

View Full Version : Crawling Valley

slingshotz
12-29-2008, 05:37 PM
This is my first year getting into ice fishing and I have never been to CVR at all (summer included). I'd like to head out there tomorrow or Wed and would like some suggestions on where to try for burbot and pike. I'm not asking for directions to your honey holes (but feel free to PM me if you do want to share some, I'm good at keeping secrets!) but some general suggestions would be handy as it seems like a big place. I'll be coming from Calgary and I don't have a ATV so I'll be limited to maybe 100 feet from where we park as I'll be dragging my tent, hand auger and other gear by hand over the ice. I'll be in a red eskimo cube :wave:

Thanks.

calgarygringo
12-29-2008, 10:24 PM
Go straight out from the boat launch and a bit to your left. Many fishin front of the island. You may be able to park on the campground shore if not too much snow as well. If you don't mind some around the back road travel let me know as we quite often fish further down the lake on the west side. There are some islands right off the main shore that are easy to walk out a hundred yards or so. Walleye, Pike and Burbs and Perch

slingshotz
12-29-2008, 10:49 PM
I'm fine with back road travel, got a 4x4 with studded snow tires :)

Thanks for the tips, might head out there tomorrow and try our luck. Are the islands you're talking about underwater islands or islands you can see from the surface? I dont have a flasher or sonar yet to check depth and structure.

calgarygringo
12-29-2008, 10:59 PM
If you are a regular and may see us in our shack half way up the west side here are directions.
Roads are good just may be a bit of snow at the lake but if you have 4 wheel no problem. Several different islands right out in front and we catch quite well. Just pick one and get out a bit in front 10-15 deep and you can get them in front of any of them.