PDA

View Full Version : Hummingbird 140c Fishin Buddy

Lowrance Fishburn
05-11-2015, 10:34 AM
Anyone have any experience with the Hummingbird portable fish/depth finders?

I recently bought the 140c series and the only notable difference from the 120c is the 140c has color display.

They also claim to have side finding sonar and can bidirectionally view the bottom etc

Anyone try these out or have any tips with using them? This is my first time so i dont wanna screw anything up...We'll see about that.

EZM
05-11-2015, 11:30 AM
I have not used that unit but keep in mind side finder is NOT the same as side imaging.

It's a vary basic circular sonar that will indicate fish (or other returns such as obstructions, weeds, ect...) in the direction of the return as displayed.

Side imaging will render a display that you can see the size of the return, density of the return, direction, depth and determine movement .... it also provides superior target separation (resolution) and can be used effectively to determine what the return actually is (and if it's worth casting toward).

The side finder will just let you know something is there - so you might be casting to a fish, or a stump .....

Nevertheless - for $300-$400 it's a great portable unit for a kayak, tinner, canoe, inflatable etc...

Big Red 250
05-11-2015, 08:51 PM
Anyone have any experience with the Hummingbird portable fish/depth finders?

I recently bought the 140c series and the only notable difference from the 120c is the 140c has color display.

They also claim to have side finding sonar and can bidirectionally view the bottom etc

Anyone try these out or have any tips with using them? This is my first time so i dont wanna screw anything up...We'll see about that.

if YOUR NOT SURE how to use it, can you not set it on auto and watch the screen, see what it does, maybe learn something that way.