PDA

View Full Version : Spice up the Open Water Derby?

PlatinumBarMan
06-24-2015, 09:56 PM
This is my first year partaking in the AO open water derby and I'm wondering why so few members participate. If you're not in the derby can you explain why and what it would take to gain your interest? Perhaps some sweet prizes?

chriscosta
06-24-2015, 10:21 PM
I just wasnt ablecto do much fishing at the start and by the time i started catching fish this summer i felt like i had fallen too far behind to catch up or i would have been right in there

Chief16
06-24-2015, 10:22 PM
Fishing isn't a competition to me

FlyTheory
06-24-2015, 10:33 PM

Some people that view it as a competition, to the point where their identity is based on them catching fish (I'm not attacking any of my buddies or anyone on this forum). It's great catching large/many fish, and sometimes it can be discouraging to not catch anything, but there's more to the experience of fishing than big fish imo. Sometimes I bring a rod and forget to use it because there are so many other things to do, and this doesn't just apply to me.
Although a rebuttal to what I said is "I guess ur da kind of guy that don't catch many big fish."

pinelakeperch
06-24-2015, 11:25 PM
I keep forgetting to bring my ID card.

binnzer32
06-25-2015, 11:34 AM
Because: 1) rav yak runs it. 2) it's length only. ( which means jack sh**. 3) It's got suckers and goldeye. 4) don't fish enough. 5) lazy

Okotokian
06-25-2015, 11:57 AM

Ditto for me as well. Same for hunting competitions. Just not into body counts. Got no issue if others are.

RavYak
06-25-2015, 12:01 PM
I think there would have been a better turnout if a few of us hadn't had such quick starts. People just look and see that they are 200+ inches behind already and think it is a lost cause.