PDA

View Full Version : Shimano FX4000

arhuomam
07-24-2015, 12:49 PM
Hi All,

I was at CanadianTire and they have lots of Shimano rod and reels for sale.

I am not really an expert in fishing and have no money to spend in buying an expensive fishing rod.

Someone told me Shimano 4000 is not really bad for the money and does great job. I was also fishing and saw someone fishing with Shimano 4000, the guy is trowing hid spinning really far, three or four times than using my cheap rod (I am using $20 WalMart one).

Please let me know what you think about Shimano 4000?

Here is an example of one of them

http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/shimano-fx4000-combo-0784764p.html#.VbKGGBFRGUk

Thanks

Kurt505
07-24-2015, 03:59 PM
I'd suggest spending that $55 on a new reel and put it on your rod until you can save up enough for a new rod. Right now Cabelas has the Shimano Sedona on sale for $59.99, in my opinion that would be a much wiser purchase. Regular $90 so you'll be saving yourself some cash. I don't have any experience with the FX4000, but I do have a Sedona that's about 10yrs old and haven't had a problem with it.

the local angler
07-24-2015, 05:42 PM
myself i have like over 60 + rods and reel combos and 3 of them are very simular to the one you are talking about. i bought 2 outfits from crappy tire that were $29 i think and both were shimano fx2000 series. worked great as a cheap rod reel combo to leave in the vehicle. one is still going strong spooled with 6lb test and the other packed it in like a year or two after i bought it. i was fighting a fish and something in the reel broke and jammed it up so it wouldn't spin so i had to hand bomb the fish in. for the price i was not expecting much and ending up buying the fx 4000 reel to replace the fx2000 that broke. personally i think its a nice starter or simple outfit for anyone, just do your research and see what others think of it before buying and get a good name brand

Tom Pullings
07-25-2015, 09:56 AM