PDA

View Full Version : Any tips on catching big Rainbows?

CMichaud
07-29-2015, 02:56 PM
Hi guys

I am somewhat new to fishing and have had good success with catching small rainbows at the local pond. Gives me something to do with the kids throughout the summer so am having a great time.

Are there any tips (bait, rigs, time etc) on how to get the bigger trouts out of these stocked ponds? The best I have done is one or two 12-13" The vast majority are the little guys.

Thanks!

fishman
07-29-2015, 03:10 PM
Most stocked ponds don't have bigger fish
Put and take and year end usually very few
Fish left
Go go bigger body of water if u want bigger fish

RavYak
07-29-2015, 03:45 PM
Find bigger, deeper lakes and/or remote locations. Overstocked lakes will have few big fish, the biggest fish will be in the lightly stocked lakes that see little fishing pressure and the fish will be hard to catch.

Big rainbows are caught very differently then small rainbows in some cases. Larger lures, deeper water and often pickier fish make them tough to catch but after you catch some big trout you won't want to catch anything else.

CMichaud
07-29-2015, 04:20 PM
Find bigger, deeper lakes and/or remote locations. Overstocked lakes will have few big fish, the biggest fish will be in the lightly stocked lakes that see little fishing pressure and the fish will be hard to catch.

Big rainbows are caught very differently then small rainbows in some cases. Larger lures, deeper water and often pickier fish make them tough to catch but after you catch some big trout you won't want to catch anything else.

Thanks for the great info.

Any good spots North of Edmonton within 1 hour for big ones?

Can you recommend a good lure/rig to get started?

Cheers

FlyTheory
07-29-2015, 04:38 PM
Thanks for the great info.

Any good spots North of Edmonton within 1 hour for big ones?

Can you recommend a good lure/rig to get started?

Cheers