PDA

View Full Version : PAL test

TBark
09-07-2005, 02:36 PM
I have let my FAC from the late 80's run out.
I now have a possession only.
But I'm looking at another rifle now.
How quickly can I arrange, write, and get the paperwork for this PAL, it is a PAL, right ?
My possession only is referred to as a POL ?
I'm a rookie at this terminology, sorry.

TBark

Scott N
09-07-2005, 04:10 PM
Your best bet since you are familiar with firearms is to challenge the course and simply take the test. Pick up a copy of the safety course manual as they use acronyms (SAFE and PROVE) as the mainstay of the course. The test is 50 multiple choice / true - false questions and then a practical exam.

Once you send your application in, there is a 28 day minimum "waiting period." I upgraded my POL (possession only) license to a PAL (possession / accusation license) a couple of years ago and I had my licence in about 5 1/2 weeks. The application is the same one that you filled out for your POL, except that you need to send your proof of passing your safety course in and pay a few more bucks.

If you're located near Calgary or Edmonton, the Alberta Hunter Education Instructor's Association offers the course and / or test challenges on a regular basis. Here's their website... you can find a calendar for their course / test dates here:

www.aheia.com/ (http://www.aheia.com/)

There are lots of people who offer the course / challenge in most areas if you look. Best of luck.

TBark
09-08-2005, 01:01 AM
Thanks Scott.
I'll look into it right away.

TBark

prairieboy
09-10-2005, 11:35 PM
If you did have an FAC you must have passed the test at some time.If you did, you need not retake it.I sent my renewal forms registered mail and had the new PAL in just over 2 weeks.

TBark
09-13-2005, 10:22 AM
It that true Prairieboy ?
I thougth I had to re write ?
If so, will I need the original FAC #.
or will I be on file ?
Where are these renewal forms ?

TBark

TBark
09-13-2005, 04:34 PM