PDA

View Full Version : What line?

MBL
11-23-2015, 07:43 PM
Just bought a new berkley heritage ice combo medium weight. I'm fairly new to ice fishing and want to try for some pike. What should I put on it for line?

1bluZebec
11-23-2015, 08:16 PM
I would get some 10lb mono and a 6" leader to be assured you don't loose any hooks to one of these toothy snot rockets?the problem with leaders is I think they somtimes deter fish at last minute if dead sticking or jigging. I usually just tie strait to the hook or a snap swivel and take my chances because I'm usually on the trigger waiting to set the hook with a finger on my line. The braid with allow you to feel the littlest nibble with no stretch while mono won't allow you to feel as good and it with have a little stretch to it making hooksets slower. Also mono tends to collect ice easy and have Line memory quit bad compared to braid. Try them both for yourself. Also there is plain fluorocarbon for twice the price of the other two. At the pinnacle of line is fluorocarbon leader material that has best characteristics to take on the nasty mouth of a pike.

RavYak
11-23-2015, 08:31 PM
I will be using powerpro ice-tec line on all my reels this winter.

15 lb for pike(I would use 20 or 30 but they don't make it...)
10 lb for walleye
8 lb for trout.

I then tie a fluorocarbon leader on.

30-40 lb for pike(20 lb if using cheap lures or fishing for smaller pike)
20 lb for lakers and walleye if worried about pike
8 lb for trout, perch and walleye if not worried about pike

The 8 lb I use is just fluoro line not leader material. The 20 and 40 lb fluoro I use is leader material. There is a difference and if fishing for pike or worried about pike then make sure you use the leader material. The larger leader sizes will seem overkill but they are for abrasion resistance.