PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE HELP - Arm Ripping Auger Issue

Frozenflyguy
12-06-2015, 05:10 PM
Hi All

My auger is trying to kill me!

I have a strike master 10" with a new solo power head and and old Lazer Mag auger with chipper blade. Last year trying to cut through the last 1/2 inch of ice at the bottom of an 18" hole and this year cutting through the last 1/2 inch of ice on a 6" (black ice) hole ... my auger is grabbing and ripping free of my arms! It is all I can do to hold onto the thing and finish the hole! Does anyone know why this is happening and what I can do to cut a hole safely? I had to build up the nerve to drill 5 holes yesterday after the first one damn near ripped my right arm out of the socket! It used to cut like a dream ... now it scares me. That said ... it was worth it for the fish :) !

Could it be that the new solo power head is too powerful for the Lazer Mag chipper auger? you would think and auger is an auger but perhaps it is not...

It also sucks that even with brand new blades my 8" manual strike master auger I can't get a hole started either ... so the hand auger doesn't want to cut and the power auger does right up until the bottom of the hole!

I really hope that someone can me figure out the issues with my manual auger or power auger.

Thanks in advance

FFG

Pyraci
12-06-2015, 05:19 PM
Try shimming your blades so they don't bite so hard. Or even file it out a little

dodger
12-06-2015, 05:34 PM
I blew 3 gearboxes on a Strikemaster with this issue. Good luck as I switched to a Jiffy out of frustration with the Strikemaster. Try the shim idea mentioned above.

Dodger.

niwrek
12-06-2015, 06:50 PM
Lol Nester!!! Don't let off the throttle..... when you release the throttle it is more likely to grab,,,,, full throttle all the way.... I still like my jiffy though

EZM
12-06-2015, 07:52 PM