PDA

View Full Version : Windows 10 from windows 7, have you?

Heyupduck
01-17-2016, 08:15 PM
I'm interested in hearing about upgrades from windows 7 to ten. Are you glad you did it?
Any thoughts, advice?
My computer keeps bugging me to upgrade

Mb-MBR
01-17-2016, 08:21 PM
I just my desk top a couple days age, not because I wanted to but because Windows 7 will no longer be supported by Microsoft. Still have to do lap top.

So far, takes a bit to get used to new format but am getting comfortable with it. I will say it seems faster but that could be my imagination. It doesn't take as long to fire up is one thing I've noticed for sure.

I'm not a techie so cant give you the nuts and bolts from that perspective....

Roughneck12
01-17-2016, 08:26 PM
After having a Mac for the past two years I will never own or use if I can help it a Microsoft product again.

I had an old laptop that I went from Win 7 to 10 and played with it for a bit, got frustrated and switched back. I only use that lap top sparingly.

rembo
01-17-2016, 08:29 PM
I did it and switched back. It messed up my whole system. Actually unusable.

We tried Windows 8 at the shop earlier, it was also a disaster.

7 or Vista is all I will run.

bloopbloob
01-17-2016, 08:29 PM
I hate it. It Used to take 2 min to fire up my laptop. Now it's closer to 10min. Always doing updates etc., and seems my battery is always dead now.

Shekka
01-17-2016, 08:37 PM
The answer completely depends on the computer. I.E. Currently state of the machine (is it infected with spyware or malware), programs installed (some may not be win 10 compatible), system specs (just cuz the upgrade says it will run doesn't mean it will run well).

That said, windows 10 is ok. The menu system is much nicer then win 8 and 8.1. The best option if your able, is to do a clean install of it though, but then you need to back up all your data and have your programs on hand so that you can reinstall them after the fresh install is complete.