PDA

View Full Version : Metal Detecting

Angler
01-28-2016, 09:57 PM
Hello everybody!
I'm thinking of getting into a new hobby this summer.
Just looking for advice from someone who does it. What equipment do you use? Is there any rules, like where you can hunt, is everything legal to keep/sell?
Be glad to hear something from experiended folks.

Thank you!

Jeron Kahyar
01-28-2016, 10:20 PM
I tried it a couple times. Turned out to not be my cup of tea (borrowed gear). All I can remember is that if you are going to do it in a public area (parks, beach, ect.) be sure to get yourself a set of headphones.

brslk
01-28-2016, 10:24 PM
Hello everybody!
I'm thinking of getting into a new hobby this summer.
Just looking for advice from someone who does it. What equipment do you use? Is there any rules, like where you can hunt, is everything legal to keep/sell?
Be glad to hear something from experiended folks.

Thank you!

I'm not experienced in it but bought a metal detector a couple of years ago but lost interest in it.
I wouldn't mind going out there again with someone who knows a little bit more about it than I.
Let me know if you wanna do some detecting this summer.

Goater
01-28-2016, 10:33 PM
Bought a detector this summer used it once at the in-laws acreage.
Juicy fruit gum wrappers are a pain, wife and son found some coins right off and kept searching well into the night --- they are hooked!!!

calgarychef
01-28-2016, 11:41 PM
I've done it a bunch and if you're in a good spot it's fun, a bad spot sucks. Entry level machines are pretty frustrating to use, folks seem to like the high end Garrett machines. There's an XP pro that gets good reviews and it's waterproof too which can be "very" handy.

GasGas
01-29-2016, 04:16 AM
There used to be, and still may be, a Calgary Metal Detecting club..do some googling to find out.