PDA

View Full Version : Bad News for Jackfish Lake Dead??

Red Neck
03-14-2016, 11:21 AM
A group of us were out at Jackfish lake west of Stony Plain on Sunday and was skunked :mad0100: Now that happens. BUT what we saw on camra was the bottom of the lake all around island and we stoped near boat launch to see if it was the same and it was:sign0161: bottom was litered with dead fish yup??
we saw 100's all of the fish we did see were all small but all speciecs? Ive been fishing there off and on for 40 years now and I cant beleve what we saw. Not lookn good:(:(:(
Red Neck Out
:scared0018:

1bowhunter12
03-14-2016, 11:49 AM
Yah that sounds about right.. Another one bites the dust

FlyTheory
03-14-2016, 12:12 PM
Brutal. I wonder why though

1bluZebec
03-14-2016, 11:18 PM
Really?? Holy ****e[emoji21] I was there about a month ago and never had much luck other than one pike but to know it's winter killed is surprising to say the least

Red Neck
03-15-2016, 09:49 AM
:thinking-006: I do not have a good answer why any of our lakes winter killed this year as there was lots of light getting to the bottom and a relitivly short
'winter"? I just hope its not an indacator of what may be going on else were?
Red Neck Out

cube
03-16-2016, 09:05 AM
:thinking-006: I do not have a good answer why any of our lakes winter killed this year as there was lots of light getting to the bottom and a relitivly short
'winter"? I just hope its not an indacator of what may be going on else were?
Red Neck Out

Actually allot of lakes iced over quite early. The ice never got thick enough to fish because of the snow insulating the ice early on, so ice fishing may not have started early but that can still leave small shallow lakes in jeopardy. It also does not take much snow to effectively stop any meaningful photosynthesis.

Lefty-Canuck
03-16-2016, 09:28 AM
They can also winter kill due to being hypereutrophic. Too much nutrient is a bad thing.

LC

SNAPFisher
03-16-2016, 10:21 AM