PDA

View Full Version : Sewing and skinning

Cowtown guy
03-02-2009, 11:06 AM
So I was finally able to try the .243 varmint grenades on a coyote and I have a nasty hole to sew. How big of a hole is too big to sew? I am new to the skinning scene so I will try to skin it just for the experience. If it isn't too big to be fixed I'll try boarding it also. I am assuming that the washing should be done before boarding. How do you dry it before boarding it though.

cattracks
03-02-2009, 02:38 PM
spin it in your washing machine

pitw
03-02-2009, 04:34 PM
You can sew some major holes shut but I doubt it will be worth it other than for experience now. The coyotes are pretty much done as a fur animal now. When you flesh it cut the ragged parts off and I believe it was bushmaster who said try to make the hole a <> shape for sewing, which works well and keeps bunching to a minimum. I would then wash the hide and to dry I hang them fur out on a nail to drip dry over night and then board.

Cowtown guy
03-02-2009, 05:43 PM
Thanks for the tips guys. I realize that it probably isn't worth a bunch right now I am looking more for experience on this one. I am hoping that I can get out a lot next winter. I plan on trying to lock down permission in a bunch of places this spring.

pitw
03-02-2009, 06:22 PM
Give'r and show us how it's going.

nube
03-02-2009, 06:25 PM