PDA

View Full Version : Would Like This Law to Change

waterninja
05-26-2016, 10:42 AM
This is my first attempt at starting a thread from my phone. Anyways, it was a beautiful afternoon yesterday so wife and I took our grandson to Hermitage trout pond. He loves visiting with the geese and trying to land a big one.
When we got there the dock area was crowded with 8 full grown adult males and not one child with them. Herm pond is quite shallow along the shoreline, and it is very difficult to fish from shore. I felt a little bad watching the 3 mothers and a couple fathers trying to fish from shore with their young children. Years ago an adult had to be accompanied by a child to fish herm pond. Don't know why they changed that rule, but I think they should bring it back. I plan to call 311 and look into this.
My grandson did manage to land a "monster" and had a great time on a lovely afternoon. Going to try and post a vid for first time. Didn't work. 122022

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

waterninja
05-26-2016, 10:55 AM
https://vimeo.com/168224626

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Okotokian
05-26-2016, 11:00 AM
I'm not averse to having a "kids only" pond or a "kids only" dock. However, what I don't know is how many ponds there are around the area and whether they have any such rule. If there were three small ponds within a city and one was designated kids only, that's fine. If it's the only pond around then everyone needs to share it. I'm sure the dock isn't filled with adults every day of the week.

Frankly, I don't frequent such ponds because I want to leave them to kids. I would feel sort of out of place. Like fishing at an aquarium. LOL

And glad your grandson got a big one. :)

waterninja
05-26-2016, 11:12 AM
1... Good thing I can't accidentally launch a missle with my phone, cause it beats me how that vid posted.