PDA

View Full Version : Beginner rod/reel and Panther Martins

Stoich
06-29-2016, 09:03 PM
I'm a beginner learning spinning around Calgary. I purchased a 6' Light Action Uglystik GX2 rod and a Pflueger Trion 30X reel, and it came with 8 lb test.

So far I have been mainly fishing for trout in stocked ponds nearby. I'm trying to get the hang of Panther Martins but I am finding them quite difficult to cast.

My Ugly Stik is only rated down to 1/8 oz lures, and I am wondering if my difficulty stems from my rod not being ultra lite, the 8 lb test, or me just being overall crap at casting.

I am heading out to the mountains to try some creeks this weekend, and I am hoping switching to 4 lb test may help.

cranky
06-29-2016, 09:17 PM
The light action rod is good enough for now but the reel is a bit big for
4lb line which would be the best for chucking small stuff a bit of distance. You could try 4 lb on that reel though. Or maybe tie on about30 to 40 feet of 4 lb to the 8lb and try that. Not sure that will work but worth a try. Mono isnt to expensive. Or you could purchase a smaller reel like 1000 size with 4 lb or lighter. I use a 1000 size reel and a 6 ft ultra lite and can cast 1/8 at least 100 feet.

millsboy79
06-29-2016, 09:25 PM
Get rid of the mono all together and move to a braid line. Will cast a lot better.

RavYak
06-29-2016, 10:45 PM
The tiny spinners and any small lure for that matter are tough to cast any distance. I would definitely go to braid, 10 lb max and try a smoother braid like power pro super 8 slick. With braid you then want to tie on a fluorocarbon leader, for trout I would use 8 lb fluorocarbon line.

This setup will cost you a bit but should extend your casting distance significantly over 8 lb mono.

Bemoredog
06-30-2016, 08:16 AM