PDA

View Full Version : Best places for a newbie?

nuchamps5
07-21-2016, 02:12 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been lurking around the site for a few weeks and figured it was time to post. I'm new to Calgary (just moved here about a month ago) and came from Minnesota where it's primarily lake fishing for bass, walleye, and northern.

I'm hoping to get back into fly fishing but it's been years. I'm not looking for secret spots or anything like that, but are there any opinions out there on good places to start wade fishing for a relative novice? I'd much rather C&R a few little ones to get my feet wet at this point (read: I'm cool with catching 8 inch brookies). Again, don't need specific areas or even rivers/streams, but maybe an idea of whether I'm in the right systems? Am I better off with the Bow/Oldman tribs or branching out somewhere else? I'm willing to drive at this point.

I've been thinking of hitting up the Crow because of relatively easy access, but I hear it can get pretty technical this time of year, and the flow looks low so I don't want to stress the fish too much (assuming I could even catch them). My other thoughts are maybe the Sheep or Highwood? I've been down on the Bow a few times without any success.

Thanks for any guidance for this newbie!

KegRiver
07-21-2016, 07:36 PM
The Bow is a world class trout steam. But I'm not a Trout fan.

lds
07-21-2016, 09:02 PM