PDA

View Full Version : Spray Lakes Question

Logan
04-01-2009, 03:02 PM
I have never ice fished Spray before and I know they have a no bait fish rule, in the Alberta Regs is says Smelts and Herring are not considered bait fish but how about Anchovies? I just got a bag of them and was wondering if I could use them all up.

Also I was wondering if you can drive onto the lake or if its walk on only? Its my first time ice fishing there and have no clue where the hell to try so driving would make it easier to more rather than walking and pulling the sled, but if its 2 feet and a heart beat so be it.

Thanks guys.

Blairh
04-01-2009, 03:51 PM
Hey, it is walk on only, Ive only fished there once and Ive had some luck. But Your best bet is to wait for mustang to see this, he is the spray lakes expert.

FishBrain
04-01-2009, 04:21 PM
yep walk on only, no motorized vehicles at all!!
Anchovies are a salt water fish so they should be fine to use I would think.
ummm, on the lake go far, when you get tired of walking go a little more.
thats all I know, literally

jts1
04-01-2009, 04:30 PM
Park at Driftwood Boat Launch
2" Buzz Bombs
Tiped with Smelt Head
60 - 100 FOW....

You cant go wrong

nicemustang
04-01-2009, 05:03 PM
Anchovies are OK, but smelt works better IMO. But try them out anyway, depends how big they are. Also depending on the bite, they won't touch big stuff or they will try and steal it or just bite the tail, etc. Small smelts, tear the tail off, on a white buzz bomb or tube jig, and fish the whole water column with pretty agressive jigging/dropping. The deeper the better this time of year.

slingshotz
04-01-2009, 06:44 PM
I'm thinking of heading there this Sunday and was wondering if spoons will work as good as the buzz bombs? My tackle box is full enough already and I really shouldn't buy any more sparkly stuff :cry:

Triple Threat
04-01-2009, 06:52 PM