PDA

View Full Version : First Antlered Success

nympher
12-04-2016, 07:23 PM
After reading other people's stories with excitement, i figured it was time to share my own. I apologize if it gets longwinded, hope you enjoy my story. I also wanted to say thank you to those who still take the time to help others on this site and try to keep it positive around here.

A bit of background, i took up hunting 5 years ago after reading countless posts on here and books & magazines for advise. It has been a self taught struggle of trial and error and frustrations, averaging 7-8 or more days a season in the field, i have been able to find deer, but always spook them before i can get a shot, especially the whitetails. During this time, hunting has become about far more than just meat gathering me, and much more about hoping to one day bask in the satisfaction of finally defeating a wary whitetail. As each season came & went, i have learned more & more and gotten closer to being successful each year. Last year i was fortunate enough to fill an antlerless draw mule tag down south as they are obviously not as spooky as the whitetail. While hunting for a mule doe last year, i found a few mule bucks there as well. This led me to pull my antlered mule tag in the same zone this year.

I lined up permission again for the spot i wanted to hunt & got out there on the second day of the season this year. I snuck into the nice open coulee before light, but managed to scare a family of coyotes out of their den nearby. After their non-stop yipping and howling at me for the next half hour, there was no deer to be seen the rest of the day.