PDA

View Full Version : Fishing/Hunting Boats

rollyg
04-05-2009, 05:21 PM
Hi there im looking at buying a fishing/hunting boat,possibly a g3,lowe, or tracker. Im looking at getting a jon boat, and i was wondering what everyones thoughts on these three boats are?I would like to drift the bow in it and possibly do some hunting with it, Im thinking of putting a jet pump so i can run in the shallow waters, whats your opinion on my idea? Im new with boats so i would appreciate any expertise, please help.

tonyflyfish
04-05-2009, 06:03 PM
and love it. I load it myself on and off the top of the truck. It is rugged and durable. Needs very little water to float. I use a Minn Kota 40 but have also rowed it-OK the batteries died!!! I built two carpeted decks one at the back and one in the middle with a pedestal seat. It might be hard to handle on the Bow but with a dedicated rower or drift and stop would work for sure.

T

gpguy7
04-05-2009, 06:08 PM
Hey tony, the 12ft lowe you have, where do u usually fish with it? Am looking around for one, but would like to know what kind of water you would or wouldn't trust it on. Sorry to jack this thread a little bit but I'm not experienced with jon boats and would like some info as well. Also what was the cost on the lowe if you dont mind me asking?

surhuntsalot
04-05-2009, 07:10 PM
A place to check out for Jon boats and outboard jets is Explorer Indstries in Edmonton. Give Dave a call and he can fill you in on what you might need. Found them to have the best prices and unbeatable service. (780)430-8591.

rollyg
04-05-2009, 07:40 PM
has anyone tried running one of these jon boats with a jet pump?

dodger
04-05-2009, 07:51 PM