PDA

View Full Version : Considering starting up Bowhunting

Icon
12-22-2016, 09:02 AM
I have been hunting with a rifle for many years, but I have always been curious about bowhunting. A few friends do it and keep bugging me to get with it! I would love the challenge and the opportunity to extend my hunting season.

I have a fair amount of landowner permissions, so this season I made inquires to most of them about if they would permit me to hunt on their land with a Bow.

To my surprise, all asked do NOT allow bowhunting. Their universal reason was that they did not want their livestock or farm equipment to "find" lost arrows. Seems pretty reasonable in my mind actually.

While this has not specifically dampened my desire to bowhunt, I do wonder what other bowhunters experience as it relates to landowners. I mean, there are a significant amount of bowhunters and I'm sure they don't all hunt on crown land!

So, What is the general consensus on bowhunters finding landowners that will permit them access to hunt?

3blade
12-22-2016, 10:43 AM
Hmmmm, it's a valid concern I suppose but not a common one, at least that I've heard. A lighted nock would alleviate the potential problem. Thing is, stories travel in farm country. So one persons cow gets shot, for the next 30 years you will hear from many farmers in the same area about dead cows. Same if someone was unlucky enough to collect an arrow in a tire.

I don't know if there's any real consensus. Some guys say yes, others say no, some don't like rifle bullets going through critters and into the countryside, others don't like bowhunting or believe an arrow can kill things cleanly, some only give permission for the day, others for the season. You just have to chat with them and respect their position, regardless of whether you agree with it.

The moose
12-22-2016, 11:03 AM