PDA

View Full Version : Cabin fever.. thinking about big pike

LacLaBicheNS
04-19-2009, 07:49 PM
I'm new to northern AB. Moved here from Nova Scota/southern ont. No big pig in either place but even as a kid I used to dream and try so hard to get a monster pike. Fast forward to now... I'm in northern AB and buying a boat soon. Already picked out a new rod at the bass pro shops on line catalouge. Rod is specifically being bought for monster pike..

I will be hunting big pike most the summer. I'm a teacher so I'll have my July and August off with the hopes of fishing 5 days a week.

anywho.. I know no one likes to give up secret lures or lakes haha.. but anyone have any suggestions on lures and lakes?

Back in Ont, people used to say just use the tried and tested true lures used for musky. The big suicks pluggs, musky killer spinners etc..

gpguy7
04-19-2009, 07:58 PM
Musky plugs and spinners do work great. As well as big spoons in the 5 of diamonds patterns. I assume your in lac la biche so i cant help you out as far as lakes, but spoons are usually my go to for big pike. Croc pattern,and williams wobblers work well too. Johnson silver minnow tipped with a longer jig body/twister tail also does well for me.

LacLaBicheNS
04-19-2009, 08:04 PM
Musky plugs and spinners do work great. As well as big spoons in the 5 of diamonds patterns. I assume your in lac la biche so i cant help you out as far as lakes, but spoons are usually my go to for big pike. Croc pattern,and williams wobblers work well too. Johnson silver minnow tipped with a longer jig body/twister tail also does well for me.

Ya the 5 of diamonds NEVER worked in southern ont. Red and white daredevil's did though. but man, southern ontario is so over fished. You norhtern AB guys have no idea how lucky you are that the fishing is so protected here. My grandfather used to tell stories of the pike that used to be in southern ont. Crazy stories.. not anymore though.