PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle Trans Issue?

Hunter65
05-14-2017, 03:54 PM
I am not a bike expert, and don't have a whole lot of experience with bikes. Not sure if I have a problem or not. 2009 Suzuki Blvd M50. Occasionally when I'm at a stop and proceed to put the tranny in 1st gear, it wont go. I need to move the bike forward or backward to get into first gear. Once in gear no problem, gears up and down fine. Only when i come to a stop then want to go again from neutral.This happens more that I like, but definitely not always, once every 10 stops maybe.

So my question is - is this normal? Or do I have a problem?

Thanks in advance.
Mike

JimPS
05-14-2017, 04:11 PM
Clutch adjustment, low engine oil or the wrong kind (wet clutch) - maybe?

Did you recently do an oil change?

Hunter65
05-14-2017, 04:38 PM
Clutch adjustment, low engine oil or the wrong kind (wet clutch) - maybe?

Did you recently do an oil change?

Bike was bought early last year, did an oil change at that time. Used Suzuki oil. Have not done one this year, bike has 7000k on it, bought at ~4000k, so I put 3000k on it last year. Will do one before i put too many miles on it this year...How often should an oil change be done? Buddy does his every spring, needed it or not. Probably a good idea.

How does engine oil affect clutch operation or changing gears etc? Wet clutch uses tranny oil?? Have not changed that. Sounds like it ought to be checked....

And I will check clutch adjustment.

Thanks again...

Little Valy
05-14-2017, 05:50 PM
I change my oil about every 1500 km which is more often than it has to be
On your next oil change use full synthetic and you will feel a big difference when you change gears
When I switched to full synthetic the difference was night and day

dewalt18
05-14-2017, 07:02 PM