PDA

View Full Version : Teaching angling

bowness
04-27-2009, 09:17 PM
I have an option class in our school that is learning the angling component of Alberta Conservation Education and this term my class is only 12 students. This is my first year and we have gone ice fishing to Arbour lake last term because a parent lived there. I wanted to go to k-country this term and fish Mt. Lorrette ponds at the end of May (usually easy fishing). Problem is bussing would cost $600.00 (only $150.00 if we stay in the city limits)and due to liability I cant get parents to drive. I was hoping someone who lived in a community with a lake in Calgary might be able to have us come as visitors...We were thinking about the end of May but are open to ideas..

WayneChristie
04-27-2009, 09:34 PM
if you are in Bowness, I fished there for a lot of years, take them down to the train bridge during the week when its quiet, there are lots of whitefish and they are usually pretty easy to catch. some big trout too.

bowness
04-27-2009, 09:42 PM
That section of the Bow is closed until June 1 and by then it will probably be a mess. These kids are also first timers and dealing with rocks, moving water and bottom bouncing might be hard for them (and me!). But your right, fishing at the train bridge can be great for whites. I once had a bull (or maybe a lake trout from Bearspaw) chase every whitefish I brought in. I also caught a lake trout (not a bull) a little farther up stream that was about 5-6 pounds.

WayneChristie
04-27-2009, 09:51 PM