PDA

View Full Version : Prospective Fly Angler

Sartorius
05-04-2009, 09:34 PM
I've been thinking about getting into fly fishing for a while, but I don't really know where to start. I'm a somewhat poor university student, so I don't have a huge wad of cash to spend. I mainly fish stocked trout lakes and small to medium sized streams/rivers. Does anyone have any suggestions for a starter setup?

catnthehat
05-04-2009, 09:39 PM
You don't need high dollar gear to start, go to Canadian Tire or WalMart and pick up a cheap crystal river rig, or similar, a 5wght is typical.
This will be fine for stocked ponds.
Most important however, get into contact with someone here that can help you out and show you the ropes!
Cat

SammyIam
05-04-2009, 09:49 PM
Are you in Calgary or Edmonton or elsewhere?

billybobjimbo jr.
05-04-2009, 10:10 PM
Sartorius,
There are many excellent books and dvds available at the public library on fly fishing.
As far as gear you don't need to spend piles of cash. You can pick up a starter 5 or 6 weight rod reel combo at one of the local sporting goods places (fishing centre, fishin' hole or wholesale sports) and talk to one of the guys/girls working there. I'd recommend going to one of these places over Cantire because you'll learn a lot more from the staff. Most of these places will be helpful and willing if you tell them your situation. For about $100-$120 you should be able to pick-up what you need to get started.
If you think you'll be doing quite a bit of fly fishing and I'd guess you'll probably get hooked on it (pun intended) you can set aside a few bucks and upgrade to a better rod down the road. Birthdays and Xmas are also great times to hit up friends and family for new gear.
If you go out by yourself the first few times and are feeling a bit discouraged, keep at it anyways. It WILL get easier. Like most things the more you practice the better you'll be. You can practice in a field or school ground.
Hope this will help.