PDA

View Full Version : Which insulation Roxul or Pink

pa_of_6
12-28-2017, 09:17 PM
Roxul or fiberglass pink.
Gotta insulate my barn and wondering which I should use...and where to get it cheap.

Thanks in advance

owlhoot
12-28-2017, 09:29 PM
I looked into Roxul once, they stated they where rodent resistant but had no proof only that there were no reported cases of mouse infestation.

skoalzie
12-28-2017, 09:31 PM
Will it be getting covered with any tin or plywood? How old is the barn? Worried about fires at all from tools or anything else? Roxul will be better for fire.... what is the spacing of the studs? Roxul is great but it's a real pain to cut.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wildbill
12-28-2017, 09:45 PM
Gotta insulate my barn and wondering which I should use...and where to get it cheap.

Thanks in advance

I've been doing industrial insulating and cladding for 18 yrs, anytime I have encountered mouse infestations it has always been fiberglass, and I have seen some, that still make me gag to this day, they love that stuff as do pack rats, if you are living rurally which I assume you are as you said you were insulating your barn, it would be a no brainer if I was in your shoes, I can't seem to ever recall seeing signs of vermin in mineral wool (roxul), hope that helps:)

wildbill
12-28-2017, 09:52 PM
Will it be getting covered with any tin or plywood? How old is the barn? Worried about fires at all from tools or anything else? Roxul will be better for fire.... what is the spacing of the studs? Roxul is great but it's a real pain to cut.

its easy to work with, get a sharp serrated knife, straight edge at tape and go.....anyone has actually worked with the stuff knows this.

skoalzie
12-28-2017, 10:04 PM
its easy to work with, get a sharp serrated knife, straight edge at tape and go.....anyone has actually worked with the stuff knows this.