PDA

View Full Version : Please explain "10% hold back"

Immigrant
01-12-2018, 08:22 AM
My renovations and addition is all done. I will be paying an invoice today, and then the is still another amount owing that is stated as the final 10%. This is my first time dealing with this so I need some advice on the following.
The contract stated there would be 6 payments.
1 deposit
2 20% at onset of work
3 30% after framing inspections
4 20% on when roof and siding done
5 20% after plumbing, flooring, drywall,painting
6 10% on completion.

I will be paying no. 5 today. But there was some areas where we came in under budget, like flooring. He also ordered some wrong size windows ( we installed them as I could not wait 4-6 weeks for the new windows) and he said he will reflect the price differences in invoice no. 6
I read and heard about a 10% holdback, which I assume no. 6 is. How does that work? When do I pay that. Could he load the final 10% with some BS add on's?
How do I know the subs got paid?

LKILR
01-12-2018, 08:29 AM
Not sure but I think you hold the last 10% until your satisfied that all aspects of the contract are complete. Also you hold the 10 until you are satisfied that all trades are paid as well

CaberTosser
01-12-2018, 08:29 AM
To ensure the subs got paid you can request that the general contractor provide letters from each of the subcontractors stating they have been paid and that they have no liens or encumbrances on the project, you can even request that these letters be notarized. I know there is an official legal term for such a letter though it escapes me.

As for extras that might have been added or mutually agreed to those could well be in there. Personally I prefer to invoice for any extras separately and prior to the final invoice. It keeps things tidy and retains my right to lien the property should the need arise.

Newview01
01-12-2018, 08:41 AM