PDA

View Full Version : Lynx set tips?

bullgetter
01-08-2007, 10:31 AM
I am new to trapping and have signed on as a junior partner for the first time. I really want to get some lynx this winter and have been building alot of cubbies. So far we have only caught 1. Is there any tricks to getting these guys with 330's? I think the biggest battle is getting them to the set then curiousity or hunger will do the rest. You seasoned cat trappers out there must have a few tips. thanks.

canadaman
01-10-2007, 12:41 PM
i am not a seasoned cat trapper but im sure anyone that traps them will tell, scent scent scent. Make sure there is no forgien odors at the trap site.

kelly
01-11-2007, 10:03 AM
I am no expert but generally lynx are fairly easy to trap. I also use a 330 in a cubby. I like to set rabbit, grouse or goose parts in the cubby and if possible hang it up a bit (get it off the ground) to the same height as the center of the trap. I also take a slender long narrow diameter tree with the branches off and set it in place so tthe tip is hanging way out over the trail or seismic line but within your height reach. I hang with fishing line a grouse wing or some foil (rabbit fur works) and this will flutter in the slightest breeze - visually attracting the critters.
Lynx have poor sense of smell so for the last couple years we have been dousing the wing/feathers with womens perfume (just about any type works) and then we use lynx or some other lure on or in the cubby.
Another way you might want to try is the foot snare/trap - works well but watch out cause the kitty wil be hiding in the cubby and be very lively when you approach.

bullgetter
01-11-2007, 12:53 PM