PDA

View Full Version : Waterton's Lake Trout??

Huntingonthebrain
05-27-2009, 09:24 PM
My Brother and I went out for the day on monday to the middle lake in Waterton. I picked up a downrigger and some nice shinny spoons and we headed out. I have never used a downrigger before that day. We had perfect weather...no wind and sunny. The only problem was....NO FISH!!!???

What on earth did we do wrong?
I know it's fishing and all...but we tried everything and every depth with not even a bite.

Any suggestions?

What is the fishing like in the pass for lakers?

Mudslide
05-27-2009, 10:38 PM
I'm not an expert but... Were you marking fish on a depth finder? What lures were you using and how were they rigged? How fast were you trolling? All these things can make a huge difference. Controlled depth fishing goes along with controlled speed and a properly presented lure or bait. Were other people hitting fish? I know that's a lot of questions but it's hard to give advise without knowing more details.

bobbypetrolia
05-28-2009, 02:22 AM
Were you running leaders? If so, what were your leaders made of and how long were they? How far back from your rigger ball were your spoons? Did you try lengthinging your leaders? Did you try letting out more line from the ball? Where were you marking fish (if you had sonar)? Did you try different speeds? Did you run the lures at boat-side to tune them or find the optimal speed to maximize flash? Did you troll in a straight line or vary your course?
Each and every one of these questions has an impact on your 'luck'. Its not just clipping a flashy spoon to a cannonball and havin' at 'er..........kudos for trying something new out on the water tho, it can be intimadating. Once you get the hang of it, downriggin for monster Lakers is an amazing day of fishing.
:wave:

Versatile
05-28-2009, 07:36 AM