PDA

View Full Version : Ram river vs North Ram River

markfisher0
07-10-2018, 09:16 PM
Hey guys,

I am gonna head down to Nordegg for a few days coming up with the wife, and I would like to do some fly fishing. I am mainly a Southern Alberta fly fishing guy, so I am not quite sure about central Alberta. I have looked in the BRMB for some access points for both rivers but I have a few questions.

1) Which river is generally better for an intermediate fly fisherman? I am aiming for cutties and the occasional bullie.

2) Are the hatches and timing similar to Oldman/Crowsnest/ Livingston systems?

Thanks!

SamSteele
07-11-2018, 06:50 AM
I have limited experience on these two rivers, but my feeling is Ram for larger fish in deeper pools and North Ram for smaller fish in large quantities. There are no Bulls above the falls on the Ram, so if you are accessing off the FTR you would need to go down into the canyon and fish below the falls. Not for the faint of heart, but it can be done with some planning.

I was just there last weekend and fishing was tough on the Ram. Water levels and clarity were good, but I only caught one and raised three in 5 hours fishing. Yellow stimulators have worked well for me there in the past. Elk hair caddis as well.

Good luck!

SS

mikeym
07-11-2018, 08:47 AM
the N Ram is probably the better river for you to try. a lot better access as the N Fork rd runs along a good stretch of it off the FTR. also easier to walk and wade as it is runs thru a big valley for the most part. the Ram river is harder to access as you would have to start at the FTR and it runs thru a canyon mostly downstream so is harder to walk. Onion Lk rd does follow it for a bit upstream but then it veers away from the river.