PDA

View Full Version : Newb Boat Questions

Mad Caddy
07-24-2018, 10:47 AM
I’m looking at buying my first boat so the kids and I can fish and have a little fun in the lake. I’m wondering what are some standard questions to be asking or things to look for when buying used? I assume it’s not common to test drive boats like you would a car (right!?), but there must be a way people function test everything while in storage? Any common points of failure in a used boat to be looking at? Common questions to ask?

bearbuster
07-24-2018, 11:00 AM
Actually, I have sold 2 boats and both we went for a test drive. If there is a lake near by, I wouldnt hesitate to ask for one.Im no mechanic but if it starts runs smooth and looks generally well kept I would be satisfied. However, look at the shape of the interior, well kept? Look under the boat, does it appear to be beached alot, or damage from rocks or a couple rough trailer loadings. To me this would reflect generally the kind of care was put into in it

Chris84
07-24-2018, 11:44 AM
My advise would be to get a pre-purchase inspection. I'm not sure what your budget is, but a pre-purchase inspection is a must if you don't know what you're looking for.

There are so many things to look for. If it is a fiberglass boat, be sure to see if it has been damaged or patched in the past, be sure to check the condition of the transom (very costly and/or time consuming repair if it breaks), you want to check the compression on the motor, make sure there are no signs of water in the leg oil, check the skeg for signs of impact (props are easy to replace, but the skeg condition can be telling).

I would definitely try and take it for a test drive on a lake, you want to make sure that the hole shot performance is ok and that it planes properly. You also want to make sure that the steering is working properly.