PDA

View Full Version : Charcoal for the grill

lyallpeder
12-27-2018, 10:40 PM
I’m new to the charcoal BBQ game. I got a Weber kettle this fall and have been trying some different charcoal for it. I sure wish we had the sales they get in the US.

Any suggestions on charcoal? I’m mostly doing low and slow. Preferably available in Edmonton.

CalgaryDan
12-27-2018, 10:43 PM
Looking for natural lump or briquettes?

I use lump and bang for the buck I use Maple Leaf. You can find it most places including Canadian Tire usually.

lyallpeder
12-27-2018, 10:45 PM
Looking for natural lump or briquettes?

I use lump and bang for the buck I use Maple Leaf. You can find it most places including Canadian Tire usually.

They are next on my list to try. Do you get a couple hours out of them or are you topping it up as you go?

fordtruckin
12-27-2018, 10:50 PM
Every time I’ve used briquettes They are lucky to last past 45-60 min. Perfectly fine for bbq a burger or chicken but for regular bbq low and slow you would need to top up.

lyallpeder
12-27-2018, 11:05 PM
Every time I’ve used briquettes They are lucky to last past 45-60 min. Perfectly fine for bbq a burger or chicken but for regular bbq low and slow you would need to top up.

I admit I’m a rookie but I did a pork loin last week at 250-275 for 2 1/2 hours. If I went any longer I would have needed to top up but it never went below 250. That was a full chimney of Kingsford. Maybe it was beginners luck?

Ithaca Dog
12-28-2018, 07:19 AM
Kingsford is the best for low and slow. Lump charcole is great for high heat cooking but doesn't burn as evenly and is less consistent.