PDA

View Full Version : What things should I be aware of when buying used travel trailer?

slamilton
12-31-2018, 07:37 AM
I am in the market for a used travel trailer around 16-20ft to be pulled behind a 2017 Pathfinder rated for 6000lbs. I will do the obvious research before buying but this is my first time so looking for tips on things to look for when viewing or negotiating.

Also:
-do you hook the trailer up for a test drive? Make sense that I would but just wanted to see how that would work in winter as the seller may not have insurance
-I am likely buying in winter so likely the thing would be winterized, how can I check if everything is working (toilet, stove, furnace etc)?

Thanks in advance.

JustBen
12-31-2018, 07:56 AM
You need to make sure everything works. RV repairs can quickly outpace the value of the trailer. I’d wait until spring.

Just because you theoretically can pull something doesn’t mean that you should. 6000 lbs of total payload assumes that the truck is empty. Any payload in the truck will reduce the towable weight. Realistically, you’re going to be looking for something in the 3000-3500 lb range with your set up to leave room for everybody and everything you want to bring.

vcmm
12-31-2018, 07:59 AM
Check all appliances. Press and feel every inch of interior walls and floor. Some times there is dry rot that you cannot see. Get on roof. If you cannot inspect roof because of snow and ice for damage. Wait until it melts.
There are tons of trailers for sale.DON'T be in a rush to buy! If it sounds to good to be true, It probably is!!

scesfiremedic
12-31-2018, 08:40 AM
All trailers should be insured under the owners home policy.

Things to look for:
Rusty wall panel nails means water behind the wall
Look for stains in ceiling, walls
Look in every cabinet for damage, staining
Look at hot water tank inside for leak/damage
Press the outside walls around windows to see if they’re well sealed (places for water to get in)