PDA

View Full Version : fishing in Monkman or Kakwa parks (BC/AB)

free_username
06-04-2019, 12:41 AM
Hi,

anyone here who could share some experience in fishing the Murray river in the Monkman Provincial Park, BC (SW Grande Prarie, AB) or between Kakwa Falls and Lake Kakwa or Jarvis Lake, in Kakwa Provincial and Wildland Parks (Border of BC/AB, SE of Monkman)?

I'm from Germany and plan to spend two weeks around hiking there (yet unsure where exactly) beginning of September. Thus, with minimal equipment, a trout/pike/walleye may save my life (in extreme cases). I can go for fly rod or spinning.

Any input is highly appreciated, many thanks in advance & kind regards
Chris
(also here http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=364362)

dave99
06-04-2019, 02:28 PM
I have no first hand knowledge of those lakes, but can offer a bit of insight to that area:

Bears and other wildlife: BC Parks has a good online resource. Have a read through and follow their guidelines. They are very thorough follow sound logical principles. Be prepared, but do not be paranoid. http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/explore/misc/bears/

Fishing and Hiking: follow applicable regulations. If fishing from shore, spin casting tends to be more successful, as the back cast of fly fishing may be limited due to vegetation. Don’t count on fishing being a life saver (maybe this was said tongue-in-cheek?)- you can probably go more than a week without any food and still survive as long as exposure and thirst are not factors. Bring “Mountainhouse” type dehydrated meals to cut down weight, a stove to warm them up, and water purification tabs or filters to avoid giardia.

Statistically speaking, cold water river crossings, falls and injuries, and exposure are more likely to cause you problems than animals, no matter how scary looking they may be. Prepare yourself and bring a satellite phone or device.

Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

free_username
06-05-2019, 02:43 PM
Hi Dave,