PDA

View Full Version : Trout fishing for beginners - where to go (southern AB)

tnly
07-15-2019, 10:38 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm kind of new to fishing since I the last time I went as about 20 years ago as a kid with my dad and his friend somewhere by Bragg Creek.
I'd like to out fishing again, particularly for trout and I'm wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to where to go. I'm from Calgary and would love to go anywhere in the foothills (or Kananaskis) from Crowsnest to Nordegg. It's beautiful everywhere!
I don't care about catching the biggest trout, just something I can take home with me. We used to fish in streams with spinners so that's what I would prefer (because that's what I know) but I don't want to rule out lakes or ponds but I don't have a boat or anything like that.

lds
07-15-2019, 10:46 AM
Pretty tough to find a river you are aloud to keep and trout. Best bet is a lake. Maybe chain lakes. Rivers are the prettiest and funnest if you just want to catch and release though

Scott N
07-15-2019, 10:51 AM
It could have been Mclean pond that your dad and his friend took you too? It's out by Bragg Creek.

You could hop on Hwy 22 and go south to Chain Lakes, or continue south to Lee Lake, Beaver Mines Lake, Beauvais Lake.... they are all south / west of Pinch Creek, but get stocked with rainbows every year.

Police Lake SW of Cardston can be good.

If you like hiking, Rawson Lake in K-Country is opening up soon (maybe today?) for fishing if you wanted to try for some cutthroats, or Elbow Lake near the Highwood Junction if you want to catch a whole bunch of little brookies.

Remember to check the regs about keeping fish, it varies depending on where you end up going.

tnly
07-15-2019, 12:48 PM