PDA

View Full Version : Mountain (Trout) Fishing & Walleye shopping list

Mr Wiggles
07-12-2009, 10:52 AM
Hi guys,

I've spent the past 45 minutes or so searching & reading through old threads, but i didn't come up with anything definitive. If i somehow missed a thread on this topic, i apologize. This post is going to end up long, i just know it, but thanks in advance for reading and helping out!

Basically, i'm not new to fishing, but as my introduction post stated, i'm new to fishing in Alberta, specifically for Trout & Walleye.

I'm wondering if i can get some direction in terms of lures & gear. There is such a mind boggling array of lures in any store, I wanted to get your opinions on what works, what doesn't, and what's just simply a huge waste of $$.

First off, I'm going to need new rods & reels. I think, based on what i've been reading, a light or ultralight spinning rod/reel is going to be my best bet for lake, pond, and river fishing for trout. My old bass gear should be good for lake fishing walleye when the time comes. What have you found to work well for gear? Just a good quality, decent combo (pick and choose a good one) or is there a specific brand you guys swear by?

Next, lures. This is a tough one, because as i mentioned, there is so much out there, where does one start?

I have a bunch of shad darts in my tackle box from when i fished shad on the delaware river (awesome fish). They look like this

http://images.cabelas.com/is/image/cabelas/s7_113221_011_01?$main-Medium$

Has anyone used anything like this here with success?

I was going to grab an assortment of len thompson spoons, what size is best? Primarily will be fishing in and around Calgary, and in K-Country. From reading, it seems the red & white stripe, and yellow & red 5 of diamonds are good patterns. Any other recommendations?